If you are a developer or a debugger WP Reset plugin should be a must-have plugin for you. WP Reset plugin helps you to reset a site’s database to default values, resets every customization and deletes the content without modifying any files.
You don’t have to worry about accidentally losing the data as WP Reset plugin has multiple fail-safe mechanisms, so you be free of tension of losing the data.
This plugin for theme developers like is what water is for a lost man in the desert. It enhances the testing speed and debugging by implementing a quick way to reset settings and re-test codes. In simple terms, this plugin was developed specifically for developers.
If you hear about WP Reset, then it would be better if you get acquainted with it first.
What changes would take place if I click the reset button?
It is better to read the manual than regretting later. Clicking on the reset button will have the following outcomes.
- WP Reset will ask for your confirmation before resetting your website. So you don’t have to worry about accidentally clicking the reset button.
- After the process of resetting is done, you will be logged out and logged in again to your WordPress account or wp-admin.
- If you have chosen to reactivate WP Reset via https://wphtaccess.com/ in post reset options, WP Reset will be activated again after resetting.
What will resetting delete?
First-time users must be curious to use this plugin, but before messing up with its settings, you should know what resetting will do to your website.
- All of your posts, pages, custom post types, comments, media entries, users will be set to default
- Wp database tables will also be reset
- Custom tables with the same prefix as defined in wp-config.php will also be set to default.
So now you have a little idea of the changes that will take place once you confirm resetting your site using WP Reset. Now let us see what settings and files will remain unchanged even after using WP Reset.
What will remain unaffected?
- Media files which are uploaded in wp-content will remain untouched but will not be available under the title of admin.
- Your files, i.e., plugins, themes, and upload will not be affected.
- The site title, WordPress address, site address language, and search engine visibility will not be affected with WP Reset
- Currently logged in user will be replaced with current username and password.
WP Reset Features and uses.
WP Reset comes along with WP-CLI support. By default commands ha, ve to be confirmed by you but if you are out of the time you can use –yes option to skip confirmation and after the reset the first admin in the database will be logged in. Do keep in mind there’s no undo if you use WP Reset with WP-CLI.
A database snapshot is a duplicate of every wp database table whether it is a standard one or a custom one.
Snapshots can be used for backup, but their primary function is for development. Snapshots can help you to find out the changes that took place in your plugins, databases, and tables. You can also use it to restore the developmental environment after testing database changes. Creating a snapshot will hardly take less than 5 seconds
Multi-site reset support
Though this feature is still in test mode. Multi-site reset as the name says will let you reset multiple sites at once, but it is risky to try this feature on the main domain, so the developers at WP Resetsuggest to try this feature in subdomains.
Partial reset tools
WP Reset is packed with some partial reset tools that allow the user to
- reset the theme modifications which uses WordPress theme mods API to its default settings.
- delete all the plugins and themes at once.
- Clear out all the media files in wp-content
- Delete the .htaccess file.