Instagram recently introduced an exciting feature that lets users restrict their followers. This means someone you follow on Instagram can restrict how you interact with their content. It is a polite way to limit your interaction with their feed.
If you get restricted from someone’s account, you would only see their post and not keep a tab if they are online or have read your messages. In addition, the person who restricts you will not receive your messages or comments.
But the platform doesn’t notify you when someone does this. So, how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram, DMs or stories? Read further to find out.
- 1 How do you know if someone restricts you on Instagram?
- 2 The Key Difference Between Blocked And Restricted On Instagram
- 3 Practices To Avoid Blocked Or Banned By Instagram
- 4 Instagram Best Practice
- 5 FAQs
- 6 Conclusion
How do you know if someone restricts you on Instagram?
There are several ways to know if someone has restricted your account. The easiest way to do so is by creating a new account. With a new account, you can go to the person who you suspect has restricted your account and follow some simple steps:
1. Comments Restriction
When someone restricts you on Instagram, they have to approve your comments to show on the posts. So, using your new account, go to the person’s account and see if your comments from your original account are showing up. If you do not see those comments, the person who restricted you has not approved your comment.
2. Activity Status Restriction
Another simple way of knowing if someone has restricted you from their account is by checking the activity status. In case the activity status in your account is not enabled, follow the following steps to enable it.
Go to your Profile> Settings> Privacy> Activities status. Here you can enable and disable the Activity Feature.
Now, go to the person’s profile and see if you can see their last active status. In case previously you could see this person’s activity status and suddenly you can’t, it means that they have restricted your interaction with their profile.
3. Messages (DM) Restriction
When a person restricts you from their account, they stop getting messages in their inbox from you. However, this does not mean that your messages disappear entirely. Instead, they will be in their message requests folder. Therefore, they will have to approve your message request to interact with your messages.
4. Story Restrictions
Want a way to know if someone restricted you on Instagram story? There isn’t a clear-cut way, however, you can ascertain from certain elements. Because when someone restricts you from their stories, they limit your interaction with them. While you will be able to view their stories, if you reply to the stories or react to them, it will land in the message request folder. They will not be notified about your reaction and can only view it when they approve the request.
The Key Difference Between Blocked And Restricted On Instagram
Being blocked and Restricted on Instagram has been confused a lot. When someone blocks your account, you will not be able to access their account. Additionally, you will see “Instagram Username” instead of their username in your Instagram Inbox. You also won’t be able to send them messages or see their account at all
- One way to know that someone has blocked you is by searching Instagram and seeing if the username you type appears in your search list. If not, you are blocked.
- Another way to see if you are blocked is by searching their username on the web browser. If the web browser shows that they are an active Instagram user, and you can’t see them on your Insta, then you are blocked.
- There are some cases when Instagram shows the person’s account with their username, but you do not follow them. If you try to press the Follow button and don’t find any changes, it means you have been blocked.
- Lastly, you can check someone’s account through a different account to know if you have been blocked.
On the contrary, if somebody restricts your account, you can see their posts and stories and send them DMs. It will appear as if nothing has changed at all. A restricted account will show the number of followers the following and posts. You can also interact with their content; however, they will not receive a notification or message from you.
Practices To Avoid Blocked Or Banned By Instagram
We know that getting restricted, blocked, or banned on Instagram is a little disturbing. However, here is how to avoid getting banned on Instagram:
1. Avoid Mass Like and Follow
Instagram is very strict with its anti-harassment conditions. If you follow too many people or like too many things on Instagram at once, it will temporarily block that function for you. You will receive a notification saying that a particular function has been restricted for a temporary duration because you were violating some Instagram rules. To answer the question of how many warnings before ban Instagram there is no specification as to when your account gets banned by Instagram.
2. Avoid Sharing Images Or Videos That are Against the Rules
Do not share images or videos against the Instagram policy to avoid getting banned. There are several rules that are to be followed by users. Some examples of good practices, i.e., are not sharing nudity, hate speech content, sexual content on Instagram, etc.
3. Complaints by User
Instagram takes complaints and reports from users very seriously. Users have the power to file Instagram complaints against content that hurts their sentiments. Ensure that the content that you post on Instagram is not offensive, does not infringe copyright, and does not post threatening content. If you violate these rules, Instagram users can hit the report button.
4. Don’t Be Spammy
Instagram has an intelligent algorithm that detects repetition and spam. If you send out too many follow requests, send the same message to multiple users, or repeatedly comment on a particular profile or post, you will get blocked on Instagram. As discussed earlier, do not bulk like or comment on Instagram posts, as Instagram considers this a violation.
If you are a new user, do not overuse the follow button, comment on multiple accounts simultaneously, and like too much content within a few minutes.
Instagram Best Practice
Using Instagram or any social media platform responsibly can be a very de-stressing activity. Here are some best practices:
- Limit yourself to posting 1 to 3 posts a day.
- Ensure that you post content relevant to your brand or you.
- Avoid posting random content.
- Use the many features that Instagram provides you to build a brand and a story.
- Keep your content visually consistent.
- Engage before and after posting your content with other users’ posts.
1. If I restrict a friend on Instagram, what happens?
If you restrict a friend on Instagram, they will not come to know. However, you will not receive their messages in your inbox, and they will land up in the message request folder. You also will not be able to see their comments on your posts.
2. What is the difference between block and restrict on Instagram?
The critical difference between blocking and restricting on Instagram is that when you block somebody, you will not be able to see each other’s content on Instagram. However, if you restrict somebody on Instagram, they will never come to know and will still be able to interact with your content. However, you will not receive any notifications or see the interaction.
3. What is the difference between mute and restrict on Instagram?
If you mute somebody, their content will not show up on your story or feed. However, if you restrict somebody on Instagram, their interaction with your content will not be notified to you.
4. How to know if someone restricted you on Instagram DM?
The easiest way to know somebody has restricted you on Instagram DM is by checking their activities status. If you can’t see their activities status anymore, they have blocked you. However, this can also mean they have turned off their Activity Status. Instagram never sends an intimation if you have been restricted.
Determining if you are blocked on Instagram is easier as compared to knowing if you were restricted. The restrict features help keep the sentiments intact of yours and the user who restricts you.
The primary reason to launch this button was to give the power to peacefully and easily restrict an account without letting another user know. If you follow the above mention steps and practice healthy posting on Instagram, there is no way that any user will restrict your account.